Kaurna Smithfield Memorial Park Reference Group





Terms of Reference

Background

The South Australian Museum is caring for the remains of approximately 4,600 Aboriginal ancestors at its temporary keeping place at Netley. Three communities combined account for approximately 2500 of the ancestral remains (Kaurna 800, Ngarrindjeri 1200 and River Murray Mallee 500).

The South Australian Government has made a short-term, two-year grant commitment to the South Australian Museum to contribute to a pilot repatriation project. The Adelaide Cemeteries Authority has offered dedication of two hectares of land at the Smithfield Memorial Park for reburial of Kaurna ancestral remains.

A Community Reference Group, co-chaired by the South Australian Museum and Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation and including Aboriginal leaders, will oversee and provide cultural advice on four stages of activity for the Kaurna Smithfield Memorial Park project. The project will begin with a community led scoping exercise to develop the memorial park design. Landscape architects will facilitate community workshops and produce professional documentation suitable for a government tender process. Stages two and three (permits/approvals and establishment works) will be managed by the South Australian Museum. Reburial will be guided by the Reference Group. The Reference Group includes nominees of the Ngarrindjeri and River Murray Mallee Aboriginal corporations who will share repatriation practice and experiences across communities.

Terms of Reference

Working with a focus on Aboriginal ancestral remains provenanced to Kaurna lands and held by the South Australian Museum, DPC-Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation and the University of Adelaide:

- 1. Identify the scale and scope of Kaurna ancestral remains to be reburied at designated land in the Smithfield Memorial Park.
- 2. Encourage Kaurna and other Aboriginal communities' involvement in a community led design process.
- 3. Identify the cultural protocols associated with the reburial of ancestral remains at Smithfield Memorial Park that are consistent with traditional owners' expectations.
- 4. Identify the expert stakeholders that need to be brought together to contribute to the project.
- 5. Provide advice on the preparation of ancestral remains for transportation and reburial.
- 6. Identify any other key elements of a respectful reburial process for the Smithfield Memorial Park.

Membership

Professor John Carty
Ms Kirstie Parker
Head of Humanities, South Australian Museum (Co-chairperson)
Director, DPC-Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation (Co-chairperson)

Mr Jeffrey Newchurch Chairperson, Kaurna Yerta Aboriginal Corporation
Ms Merle Simpson Kaurna Yerta Aboriginal Corporation

Ms Heather Agius Kaurna Repatriation Trust

Mr Alan Sumner
Mr Robert Pitt
Kaurna Yerta Aboriginal Corporation Youth Representative
Chief Executive Officer, Adelaide Cemeteries Authority

Ms Julie Cook Community nominee, River Murray Mallee Aboriginal Corporation

Mr Moogy Sumner Community nominee, Ngarrindjeri Aboriginal Corporation
Ms Anna Russo Aboriginal Heritage and Repatriation Manager, SA Museum

Mr Toby Forde Manager Aboriginal Heritage, DPC-Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation

Mr Jamie Grant Fulham Funerals

Mr Jason Irving Manager Parks and Strategy, Department of Environment and Water SA

Mr Dennis O'Brien SA Museum Research Officer, Repatriation (Executive Officer)

Classification: For Official Use Only Page 1 of 2

The SA Museum Aboriginal Advisory Committee will nominate a member who may elect to participate in discussions and activity from time to time*.

Meetings

The reference group will meet bi-monthly (every two months) for an initial period of eighteen months to provide advice and cultural guidance on the development of the Kaurna Smithfield Memorial Park Project.

Reporting

The SAM Head of Humanities will regularly report progress to the SAM Director. The Director will inform the SAM Aboriginal Advisory Committee before reporting updates to the Museum Board.

Timeline

The work of the reference group should be completed within eighteen months of the first meeting.

Sitting Fees

Aboriginal community representatives nominated by the relevant Aboriginal representative body (i.e. Kaurna Yerta Aboriginal Corporation, Ngarrindjeri Aboriginal Corporation, River Murray Mallee Aboriginal Corporation) will receive \$250.00 per meeting attended for up to eight meetings over eighteen months.

Classification: For Official Use Only

^{*} SA Museum Aboriginal Advisory Committee member Ms Sandy Miller.