Djangu (NT)

LocationArnhem Bay area, principally on its eastern shores, extending north to the English Company Islands. This is one of the seven loose linguistic units observed by Schebeck and others. They are separated on a basis of differences in the form of the demonstrative pronoun 'this.' In this group the word takes the form ['djangu]. It is not to be confused with the Dangu ['Dagnu] another similar linguistic unit of the east coast of Arnhem Land, whose members today intermingle with the others but retain their identity. In the Djangu there are two clans, both of the Jiritja moiety: 1. Man:atja (Man(d)atja). 2. Waramiri (Warramiri, Warameri, Warumeri, Warramirri, Burada, Buratha, Budalpudal, Buralbural).
Co-ordinates136°30'E x 12°20'S
AreaNo estimate possible.
ReferencesWarner, 1937; Capell, 1942; Berndt, 1965; Anonymous, 1969; Schebeck, 1970 MS; Peterson, 1970 pers. comm.
Alternative NamesDjango.