'County Russell' (printed 1931)

['Copies of Tindales maps'] Supplementary to: 'Journal of Researches in the South East of S. Australia by Norman B. Tindale. Volume II. 1934-[1940]' (AA 338/1/33/2).

Map of County Russell showing area bordering the eastern bank of Murray River from Mannum south to Tailem Bend, Wellington, Lake Alexandrina, Lake Albert and Meningie. Includes Hindmarsh Island, Narrung, Point McLeay and the upper Coorong. Note by Tindale at bottom reads: 'Copies of Tindale's map'. Data in india ink were probably transcribed by Henry Kenneth Fry (see AA 105) from corresponding Hundred maps (see 'County Russell' in index; see also companion map 338/24/114 of County Cardwell). Contains extensive annotation of Aboriginal place names, clan names and other data. Except for 'Reuben Wilson', names of informants are not noted on this map. Scale 1 inch = 2 miles.

This item contains references to: South Australia

Tindale Tribes: Jarildekald; Portaulun; Ramindjeri; Tanganekald.

CreatorDr Norman Barnett Tindale
ControlAA 338/24/126
Quantity   1   map,
Series AA338/24