'County Russell' (printed 1931)

['Copies of Tindales maps'] Supplementary to: 'Journal of Researches in the South East of S. Australia by Norman B. Tindale. Volume II. 1934-[1940]' (AA 338/1/33/2).

Also supplementary to: 'Murray River Notes by Norman B. Tindale. 1930-1952. Adelaide, South Australia' (AA 338/1/31/1).

Photocopy of annotated map 338/24/126, County Russell, showing area bordering the eastern bank of Murray River from Mannum south to Tailem Bend, Wellington, Lake Alexandrina, Lake Albert and Meningie. Includes Hindmarsh Island, Narrung, Point McLeay and the upper Coorong. Note by Tindale at bottom reads: 'Copies of Tindale's map'. Data were probably transcribed by Henry Kenneth Fry (see AA 105) from corresponding Hundred maps (see 'County Russell' in index; see also companion map 338/24/114 of County Cardwell). Contains extensive annotation of Aboriginal place names, clan names and other data.

Additional notes in various inks include place names, clan names and other data obtained from Karloan (19 April 1938), Pinkie Mack and Henry Mason (see journal 338/1/31/1, pp. 46-47). One note reads: 'country of Unaipon' (see 'Grannie Unaipon' in index). 'Tribal' names and boundaries were added later in pencil ('Nganguruku' written on top continues on the reverse). A further annotation refers to 'key section of middle to late Pleistocene Section 174 H[undred] of Burdett' and related article by Tindale in Records of the South Australian Museum, Vol.8, 1947. Notes on stick-on labels refer to checking of place name data (c. 1980). Scale 1 inch = 2 miles.

This item contains references to: South Australia

Tindale Tribes: Jarildekald; Nganguruku; Ngaralta; Ngarkat; Portaulun; Ramindjeri; Tanganekald.

CreatorDr Norman Barnett Tindale
ControlAA 338/24/128
Date Range1936  -  1980
Quantity   1   map, 68.5x90.0 cm
Series AA338/24